Gamer Problems – Buying Skins

Image

I have been playing League of Legends for a little under a year now and have encountered various tough decisions throughout my gameplay. One of the major decisions was whether or not to purchase RP. When I had first started playing League, I swore that I would never allow myself to purchase RP, because it was a game, and not worth spending money on. If I happened to receive some as a gift, great, but I would not buy it for myself.

This decision did manage to work for a time, my boyfriend and I occasionally exchanged gifts of RP on birthdays or at Christmastime. Yet as time went on I began to want skins more and more. Partially because I enjoyed the game so much and partially to show my love for a particular champion.

Now, this may be a problem that only I have, but choosing a skin has never been easy for me. This is likely due to my being acutely aware of the fact that I am paying REAL MONEY for these skins, and I hate to waste said real money on something I won’t absolutely love. That being said, I have gone weeks before actually using RP that is stored on my account. Sometimes I keep some on hand, just in case a skin I like goes on sale, in which case, it holds more value because I am getting it at a lower price.

So, what exactly goes into making a final decision on a skin, one may ask? Well, apparently, quite a bit.

1)    Plain and simple, do I find it aesthetically appealing. This could mean, is it pretty, is it cute, or, from my odd perspective, or is it kind of sexy (I don’t know why, since I’m a girl, but I actually find the fanservice skins entertaining).

2)    How often do I use the champion? Just because I really like a skin, doesn’t mean it will get much use if I don’t play the champion very often, in which case, it’s kind of a waste of funds. For example, I like Caitlyn, finally bought her, but then found I hardly played her. While there was one skin in particular I really liked, I only played her maybe 1 out of 20 games, so it wasn’t worth buying it.

3)    Finally, what does it cost. Even if I really like a skin, and it fits under the preferences of the first two categories, I may choose not to buy it and instead get more skins for a smaller cost. I wouldn’t necessarily say I’m cheap, but I do certainly know value when I see it. I put off buying a Lulu skin for a long time, because Dragon Trainer was my favorite but it was much more expensive than most the other skins I was interested in.

Keep in mind, all of these important factors went out the window when Riot introduced mystery gifts. I exchanged gifts with friends and received two for a champion I absolutely hate, just for the thrill of mystery gifting.

So, what goes aspects go into your decision when buying a skin? Do you have a particular favorite skin? Or do you completely avoid them because you feel they aren’t worth the money?

3 thoughts on “Gamer Problems – Buying Skins

  1. Ian G. G. says:

    I buy skins with similar discretion, the big difference being that if I see an awesome skin on sale I’ll sometimes buy it, even if I know rarely play the champion. Why? Because I’m in LoL for the long haul, it seems. I’ve been playing more than two years, and though I sometimes wander away from it, I always find myself coming back to it. So I “wasted” money on skins that I thought were good (like Pulsefire Ezreal, or Big Bad Warwick), even though I don’t play the champions often or (as in the case of any ADC ever) well. Riot makes pretty much every dime on skins, and I don’t mind supporting a game I’ve gotten hundreds of hours of enjoyment from.

    • azuresky1329 says:

      That’s a great way to look at it! Another reason why I love having a little RP for when things go on sale, just so I can take advantage of the value. It is certainly worth the investment though, in order to support a game I enjoy so much.

  2. It really depends on how much i play a champion, when making a decision to buy a skin. If is someone i enjoy and play all the time, why not spend a little money?

Leave a Reply

