Remember Me – Mnemception

Image

Release in June 2013, Remember Me is a game made by Capcom for PC, PS4, and Xbox 360. There was a lot of hype for this game, and some disappointed reviews after it was released. I waited a while to purchase it due to the negative reaction and because I’m a stickler for value and wanted it at a lower price. That lowest price can currently be found at Amazon.

My initial impressions led me to believe that this would be a very powerful experience. The characters and images were vivid and my expectations were high. I had a feeling it was going to keep me on the edge of my seat.

Nilin, the main character and heroine of our game, is a powerful female figure. Nilin is a) pretty kickass b) has unique abilities that others like her cannot begin to fathom and c) has a certain presence that often sent chills up my spine. Nilin makes me think of a futuristic Lara Croft. I often felt as though I was in the Animus, and certain scenes remind me of those in Mirror’s Edge. Nilin is one ferocious lady and she’s out for blood.

As a woman, I often hold games with female protagonists in high regard, because they relate to me better than male characters. I love the “girl power” feeling that comes from kicking everybody’s ass as Nilin. That being said, I do worry that the male consumer base will not find such a connection with our hero. I would not characterize Nilin as overtly feminine; she’s a fighter and a rebel, so I believe you can find at least a few aspects in which to relate to her.

The combat aspect of the game can be a little tricky. I have heard several complaints about the combat system being repetitive and dull. While it is repetitive (you complete the same combos over and over), I would not necessarily find it dull. My first play of the game was on “normal” mode, and even still I had to replay certain fights multiple times. The most difficult thing for me was when you would encounter mobs of enemies and had to use Nilin’s dodge while still attempting to complete a combo. This is one of the aspects that kept me on edge throughout the game. Just because the combat combos may become “dull” over time, that doesn’t mean the combat itself does, as new foes are introduced and strategies must be redesigned throughout the game.

Overall, I was quite pleased with Remember Me and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I would certainly suggest that it may not have been worth its introductory price, and therefore I am glad that I waited for it to go down in cost before purchasing. I enjoyed the graphics and futuristic scenery. There were occasional puzzles that the player must deal with that I frustrated over and was proud to complete. I was surprised by the twist at the end of the game and was pleased with the final outcome. The one thing that I was truly disappointed by was the length of the game. In some ways it feels more like a prologue, like this should be only the beginning, and I wish that there were more so that I could continue enjoying the world that I had worked so hard to heal.

If I had to give it a rating, I would give it a 7/10. All in all, it was definitely worth the play.

2 thoughts on “Remember Me – Mnemception

  1. Ian G. G. says:

    Why have these stopped?

Leave a Reply

