Daily Prompt: GenXYZ

For today’s Daily Prompt I’ll be considering those included in Generation Z as a cohort of the Generation Y group,  or as I prefer, the Millennials.

While I am by no means what could be described as “old”, I find myself using the phrase “kids these days” all too often.

Perhaps it was my upbringing, perhaps it was the time period. Either way, I can’t help but believe that when I was a kid, things were much different than they are now. Every kid has a phone, a smartphone, an iPad, an iPod, a Kindle or some other piece of technology i may be unaware of. This in itself is not such a horrible concept. I myself love these items of great technology. What I do have a problem with is the sense of entitlement it seems many of the GenZs emit. The “I deserve this just because I do” attitude.

Then there’s the lack of respect to cover. When I was a kid I did something that warranted grounding once. I was so appalled by my punishment of no friends, phone, etc. that I never acted poorly towards my parents again. Now, this problem might not be entirely their fault. I think this is blamed partially on the times, partially on society, and partially on the fact that parental discipline is a thing of the past. If you say there are consequences for a behaviour and don’t follow through, you can’t be surprised when the behaviour continues.

I’ll be the first to admit that nobody’s perfect and each generation has it’s flaws. GenX probably feels the same way about my generation as I do the next. There are plenty of complaints I could lodge about the prior generation and likely my own as well. As time passes, there will be new and ever changing societal concerns. One thing is sure, I’ll be curious to see what these GenZs will accomplish in the coming years and what issues the Generation that follows them will produce.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: GenXYZ

  1. Roxanne says:

    I’d have to agree, my head spins at the lack of respect and the upbringing these kids have. And everything’s moving at such a fast pace that it hard to keep up with… unless one happens to be of genz.

    Mebbe that just me tho.

  2. Ian says:

    If you read any of the collections of horrible tweets following Christmas along the lines of “No new car! FML” or “Mom got me a WHITE I-doodad, I wanted a BLACK one, I hope she dies!”, I cna definitely see where the entitlement concerns come from. I like to think, perhaps wrongly, that it’s less about this generation being worse, and more about easier access to saying very stupid things in very public, thoroughly recorded ways. I remember having some patently terrible personal thoughts as a teenager… which stayed in my head. Twitter exists as a way to do away with the privacy one would normally enjoy within one’s own skull.

Leave a Reply

